# Directions for ASE Group-sponsored Chair Professor Appointment of the College of Engineering of National Sun Yat-sen University

Approved at the 2nd College Executive Meeting of the 2010 academic year on September 29, 2010

Approved by Advanced Semiconductor Engineering Inc. on November 30, 2010

Ratified by the President on December 31, 2010

Approved at the 6th College Executive Meeting and approved by Advanced Semiconductor Engineering Inc. in the 2011 academic year on January 6, 2012

Ratified by the President on February 20, 2012

Revision agreed by Advanced Semiconductor Engineering Inc. on June 19, 2012

Amended at the 1st College Executive Meeting of the 2012 academic year on September 26, 2012

Ratified by the President on October 17, 2012

Amended at the 3rd College Executive Meeting of the 2013 academic year on November 26, 2013

Revision agreed by Advanced Semiconductor Engineering Inc. on May 26, 2014

Amended at the 8th College Executive Meeting of the 2013 academic year on May 27, 2014

Amended and approved at the Administration Meeting on June 4, 2014

Amended and approved at the 2nd Endowment Fund Management Committee Meeting of the 2014 academic year on June 13, 2014

## 1. Purpose:

The Directions for ASE Group-sponsored Chair Professor Appointment (hereinafter referred to as "the Directions") of the College of Engineering (hereinafter referred to as "the College") of National Sun Yat-sen University (hereinafter referred to as "NSYSU") are formulated in order to recognize faculty members who are committed to academic research and social service (hereinafter referred to as "ASE Chair Professor").

## 2. Eligibility:

Full-time faculty of the College of NSYSU facilitates collaboration between the College and ASE Group and makes significant contribution to academic research and social service.

## 3. Recipient and Incentive:

- (1) One ASE Chair Professor is appointed per year.
- (2) ASE Chair Professor receives a monthly incentive payment of NT\$ 50,000 for one year.

#### 4. Nomination Procedure:

Each department/institute nominates up to 1 candidate by the defined deadline.

#### 5. Organization and Operation:

The source of the operating budget is regular donations from the ASE Group. The chair professor will be appointed for a fixed number of years subject to the donation

amount. ASE Chair Professor is selected once per year. The ASE Chair Professor Selection Committee is formed and consists of the dean of the College serving as the convener, vice dean, the head of each department/institute, 1 representative of ASE Group, and a number of external distinguished professors appointed by the dean.

#### 6. Selection Procedure:

The convener chairs the committee meeting. At least half of the members must attend the meeting to decide on a matter. The College conducts an external evaluation for candidates prior to the meeting. Feedback from the external evaluation is provided to the committee for reference.

- 7. The ASE Group may add the number of ASE Chair Professors appointed and extend the appointment term on an unscheduled basis. In this case, the ASE Group conducts the selection procedure and reports the result to the ASE Chair Professor Selection Committee for future reference.
- 8. The Directions become effective after being approved at the College Executive Meeting with consent of the ASE Group, at the Administrative Meeting, and by the Endowment Fund Management Committee. Amendments to the Directions shall follow the same procedure.